About Brighton

“I am humbled to be in this place — a voice for my community — and I am humbled to be the 14th person to have been elected by the Brighton community since 1856. I intend to be a strong voice in this Parliament.”

Brighton is an electoral district of the Legislative Assembly in the Victorian Parliament and is home to 62,500 people.

Situated along the coastline of Port Phillip Bay, Brighton covers an area of 19 square kilometres. It includes the suburbs of Brighton and Elwood, as well as parts of Brighton East, Hampton and Hampton East.

Bordering Small Street in Hampton, Nepean Highway in Hampton East, Thomas Street in Brighton East, and Dickens Street in Elwood, every inch of the electorate is special.

Brighton features some of Melbourne’s most loved sites, including: the colourful heritage listed Brighton Beach bathing boxes; Melbourne’s best beaches along Hampton, Brighton and Elwood; and the iconic shopping strips of Hampton Street, Church Street and Ormond Esplanade.

The electorate is mainly located within Bayside City Council; however, Elwood is part of the Port Phillip municipality. Brighton is one of only three electorates in the Victorian Parliament to have existed continuously since 1856. Of the three, it is the only Liberal Party held electorate. Brighton has a rich history in its electoral representatives, which includes former Deputy Liberal Party Leader Louise Asher and former Victorian Treasurer Alan Stockdale, as well as the colourful former Victorian Premier Sir Thomas Bent. James is the fourteenth person to have been elected as the Member for Brighton since 1856.

Past Members

2018 - Present: James Newbury

1999 – 2018: Louise Asher

1985 – 1999: Alan Stockdale

1976 – 1985: Jeannette Patrick

1955 – 1976: Sir John Rossiter

1945 – 1955: Brigadier Raymond Tovell

1928 – 1945: Ian Macfarlan

1909 – 1928: Oswald Snowball

1900 – 1909: Sir Thomas Bent

1894 – 1900: William Moule

1871 – 1894: Sir Thomas Bent

1862 – 1871: George Higinbotham

1861 – 1862: William Brodribb

1861 – 1861: George Higinbotham

1857 – 1861: Charles Ebden

1856 – 1857: Jonathan Binns Were